Menu Language

India Certification Made Easy

read more

AIS – Automotive Industry Standard

read more


read more

TEC - Telecommunication Engineering Center

read more


read more

Other Services

read more


read more


read more

About us

read more

Indian Authorities (Central Licensing Agency / SLA)

What authorities are there in India?

Most of the authorities responsible for certification in India were originally departments within the ministries, but as they grew, they were eventually outsourced. Most of the spin-offs happened in the last 10 years and most certifications have been and still are regulated.

This overview shows which authorities are responsible for the individual certifications:


Responsible authority

AIS Ministry of Road Transport and Highways > responsible for standards

Implementing authorities:

o           Automotive Research Association of India (ARAI)

o           Automotive Component Manufacturers Association of India (ACMA)

          International Centre for Automotive Technology (ICAT).

BIS Ministry of Consumer Protection, Food & Public Distribution

o   BIS – Bureau of Indian Standards (formerly „Indian Standards Institution“ (ISI))

o   FMCS (Foreign Manufacturer Certification Service) > BIS-ISI-Certification

o   CRS für Compulsory Registration Scheme > BIS-CRS-Certification

WPC Ministry of Communications and Information Technology

o   WPC (Wireless Planning & Coordination)

o   Licensing and Regulation (LR)

o   New Technology Group (NTG)

o   Standing Advisory Committee on Radio Frequency Allocation (SACFA)

o   And others

TEC Ministry of Communications and Information Technology

o  Behörde: Das Telecommunication Engineering Center (TEC)

o  Gesetz: Mandatory Testing Certification of Telecommunication Equipment (MTCTE) 2017

PESO Petroleum and Explosives Safety Organisation (PESO), since 2010. Formerly Department of Explosives, part of Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT), Ministry of Commerce and Industry

o   Chief Inspector of Explosives (CCoE ) at the top

o   Over 30 regionally responsible offices in India

CDSCO The Central Drug Standard Control Organisation (CDSCO)

o   Central Licensing Authority (CLA) classifies products into one of four levels

o   CLA is responsible for levels C and D

o   State Licensing Authority (SLA) for levels A and B


In addition to these authorities, there are many others responsible for ever smaller niches. Although in theory the individual authorities are responsible for publishing their standards, in most cases this work is done by the more central BIS.

For this reason, and in order to bring more structure to standardization, the Indian government is planning to place more and more competencies with the BIS (see However, it is not yet clear when this will happen, as time frames in India are often not final and important decisions are often delayed.

Related Topics:

zur Glossar-Übersicht

Third party cookies & scripts

This website uses cookies & scripts. For optimal performance and advertisement purposes it is recommended that you agree to the use of cookies by third parties & scripts. We do not share information about your use of our website with social media.
For more information, please see our Privacy Policy and the Imprint.
Which cookies & scripts and the associated processing of your personal data do you agree to?

You can change your selection anytime under Privacy Policy .